Photo Kim Hjortøy

Photo Kim Hjortøy



SPUNK is Kristin Andersen Høvin - trumpet and flutes, Lene Grenager - cello, Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje - vocal, electronics, Hild Sofie Tafjord - horn, electronics. The band has existed with unchanged crew since 1995 and represents a unique continuity on the free-improv music scene in Norway. In SPUNK's artistic work all musical experiences have equal weight and all decisions are communal.

SPUNK's artistic expressions reaches beyond concerts, and through the work of spatial installations, collaboration with performing arts and visual arts, they excite the curiosity of an increasingly wider audience, internationally and at home.

Since the beginning, SPUNK has released 9 albums, including the DVD LIGHT and the concept classic,  Das Wohltemperierte SPUNK, recorded over 12 years. SPUNK has long experience with composed music for record and other art forms, but when SPUNK plays concerts everything can happen: All is depending on the space and the audience and the particular setting.

SPUNK has played concerts at a number of key festivals like Donaueschinger Musiktage, FIMAV Victoriaville, Unlimited Wels, Festival Meteo Mulhouse, Banlieu Bleu Paris, Molde Jazz Festival, Nickelsdorfer Konfrontationen, Ulitma festival and has had commissions from Nordland Musikkfestuke, Henie Onstad Art Center, Kalv Festival, Stockholm New Music, Bomuldsfabriken Kunsthall, Dansens Hus and Ultima.